Piggy Handsome by Pip Jones

We are VERY excited to have received this book review from one of our regular visitors to the shop, Isabelle, age 7! “Dear Rachael I liked Piggy Handsome because he kept on having tantrums for really silly reasons. It was really funny because Jeff got really calm in a crisis (he was his budgerigar friend). […]

They All Saw a Cat, by Brendan Wenzel

Pity the poor customers I have greeted, over the past few days, with an evangelical gleam in my eye. Watch, as they slowly back away from Crazy Book Lady, who babbles excitedly about a book so special, so important, so TRUE, that they MUST READ IT IMMEDIATELY. Cringe, as Crazy Book Lady starts to read […]

Goth Girl and the Ghost of a Mouse by Chris Riddell

The second of our lovely customer reviews talks about shop favourite, Goth Girl and the Ghost of a Mouse¬†by Chris Riddell. It comes again from Caroline – one of our most prolific readers, Caroline is a regular visitor to the shop, and can always be relied upon for some GREAT recommendations! She even knows of […]

The Building Boy – David Litchfield & Ross Montgomery

In preparation for this post, I sat in my empty shop, settled myself into the Reading Chair, and read ‘The Building Boy’ aloud.¬†Fortunately, passers-by couldn’t clearly see this mad woman at work, due to the book’s illustrator’s ¬†beautiful window display, obscuring their view: Had they peered through the branches and leaves, they may have wondered […]

Book Review: The Silverwing Series, by Kenneth Opall

This special post is brought to you by one of our regular customers, Caroline, aged 10. Caroline recently read the children’s ‘Silverwing’ series for us, and gave us this wonderful review! “Three very interesting and enthralling books. However, I also found them confusing, and it takes a seriously well-written book to confuse a librarian! I […]

Tree – Patricia Hegarty and Britta Teckentrup

Explore the beauty of the changing seasons in this timeless peek-through book with beautiful artwork from Britta Teckentrup and accompanying rhyming text. Following the life-cycle of a tree through spring, summer, autumn and winter, children will easily learn to recognise the signs of the seasons with this simple yet striking picture book.

Grandad’s Island – Benji Davies

After the phenomenal success of The Storm Whale and On Sudden Hill, this new book by Benji Davies deals with the emotional topic of losing a grandparent. Subtly told, this beautifully illustrated book tackles a difficult subject with great sensitivity and depth.

Time Travelling with a Hamster – Ross Welford

For readers who loved Wonder and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time this extraordinary debut will make you laugh and cry. A story that crosses time and generations, for adventure-loving readers young and old. ‚ÄúMy dad died twice. Once when he was thirty nine and again four years later when he was […]

The Person Controller – David Baddiel

From the author of The Parent Agency comes a thrilling, funny and touching new adventure. Fred and Ellie are twins. But not identical (because that’s impossible for a boy and a girl). They do like all the same things, though. Especially video games. Which they are very good at. They aren’t that good, however, at […]