The Mapmakers’ Race by Eirlys Hunter – A Mapmaker’s Review!

We are SUPER-excited to bring you a review of Eirlys Hunter’s latest gripping adventure book, ‘The Mapmakers’ Race’, from Bedford’s very own cartographer-extraordinaire, mapmaker ‘Captain’ Alice Gadney of ‘Mini Map-Makers‘! “I knew when I saw this book it would be good… but not until I read the first few pages did I realise it would […]

Piggy Handsome by Pip Jones

We are VERY excited to have received this book review from one of our regular visitors to the shop, Isabelle, age 7! “Dear Rachael I liked Piggy Handsome because he kept on having tantrums for really silly reasons. It was really funny because Jeff got really calm in a crisis (he was his budgerigar friend). […]

Big Hid, by Roisin Swales

Most of you will, by now, be aware of my extreme fandom of publishing house Flying Eye, producers of such deliciousness as Francesca Sanna’saward-winning¬†The Journey, Briony May Smith’s eye-dazzling¬†Imelda and the Goblin King, and the exquisite Wild, by Emily Hughes… I have been known to salivate over their Latest Releases catalogue. So imagine, if you […]

They All Saw a Cat, by Brendan Wenzel

Pity the poor customers I have greeted, over the past few days, with an evangelical gleam in my eye. Watch, as they slowly back away from Crazy Book Lady, who babbles excitedly about a book so special, so important, so TRUE, that they MUST READ IT IMMEDIATELY. Cringe, as Crazy Book Lady starts to read […]

The Building Boy – David Litchfield & Ross Montgomery

In preparation for this post, I sat in my empty shop, settled myself into the Reading Chair, and read ‘The Building Boy’ aloud.¬†Fortunately, passers-by couldn’t clearly see this mad woman at work, due to the book’s illustrator’s ¬†beautiful window display, obscuring their view: Had they peered through the branches and leaves, they may have wondered […]

Tree – Patricia Hegarty and Britta Teckentrup

Explore the beauty of the changing seasons in this timeless peek-through book with beautiful artwork from Britta Teckentrup and accompanying rhyming text. Following the life-cycle of a tree through spring, summer, autumn and winter, children will easily learn to recognise the signs of the seasons with this simple yet striking picture book.

Grandad’s Island – Benji Davies

After the phenomenal success of The Storm Whale and On Sudden Hill, this new book by Benji Davies deals with the emotional topic of losing a grandparent. Subtly told, this beautifully illustrated book tackles a difficult subject with great sensitivity and depth.

Time Travelling with a Hamster – Ross Welford

For readers who loved Wonder and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time this extraordinary debut will make you laugh and cry. A story that crosses time and generations, for adventure-loving readers young and old. ‚ÄúMy dad died twice. Once when he was thirty nine and again four years later when he was […]

The Person Controller – David Baddiel

From the author of The Parent Agency comes a thrilling, funny and touching new adventure. Fred and Ellie are twins. But not identical (because that’s impossible for a boy and a girl). They do like all the same things, though. Especially video games. Which they are very good at. They aren’t that good, however, at […]